A Narrow World

I never had enough confidence to make a song and then share it publicly. I always believe it will embarrass me.

I am not good enough in playing guitar. Okay, I can play it. But that’s it. I just can play it in very basic level. In fact, it has been years since the last time I played it intensely.

I listen to some music. But that’s it. I am just a listener that has difficulties to catch up with recent pop songs. I am stuck in Beatles, Sting and The Police, Queen, Scorpions, Rod Steward, Marley…

I also made several poems in the past. But that’s it. I collect them in a book, and keep it for myself.

Did I ever want them to be shared publicly? Honestly, I did. Sometimes I feel the writings I produced for my newspaper were not enough. I feel they do not satisfy my self. They do not represent whole of me.

Sometimes I feel my poems do better. And I want people to know that.

That’s why I took the challenge. I make a song in three days, and share it. Yes, I did it!

It is a simple song where I want to share my feeling about what is going in our world these days: Istanbul, Oregon, Dhaka, Saudi, Indonesia. From tragedy to tragedy. It is very sad to see all of these bad things happened.

This song is a prayer. It is full of hope.

Don’t expect a super quality voice. Please understand, I am not a good singer. I just can sing. That’s it.

Thanks for Nat for lending me the guitar.

It is a simple song recorded by a smartphone, so please enjoy it as it is. It is in Indonesian. but a song should be a universal thing. I provide the link and the translation for lyrics below.

Cheers!

 

A Narrow World

 

Black and white is the world you’re living in

Dreams killed by loneliness

Colors that you burry at the bottom of your heart

All is gone but the hatred

 

Reff: 

You run, you hide

You stop, you turn back

Open your window, breathe the new air

Take a step

Greet the blue sky, the sun welcomes you

Dance with me

Dance with me

 

Revenge won’t heal your pains

Only tears you will meet

Reff:

 

 

 

Dunia Sempit

 

D                                                 Em

Hitam putih dunia sempit yang kau tinggali

G                                              A

Mimpi-mimpi yang terbunuh sepi

D                                                 Em

Semarak warna yang kaukubur di dasar hati

G                                                 A

Lenyap menyisakan rasa benci

 

Reff

D             Em      G           A

Kau berlari,        kau sembunyi

D             Em     G         A

Kau berhenti,     kau kembali

D                                 Bm

Bukalah jendelamu hirup udara baru

G

Melangkahlah

D                                 Bm

Sapalah langit biru, mentari menyambutmu

G                 D

Menarilah bersamaku

G                 D

Menarilah bersamaku

 

 

Em – G – A

 

D                                                   Em

Dendam tak kan menyembuhkan luka-lukamu

F                                         A

Hanya air mata yang kau temu

 

Reff

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Narrow World”

Leave a comment